®≥÷¨••••••••••••••••••••

背景

休闲游戏是最受欢迎的手机游分类之一。该分类专为快节奏场景设计,非常适合想要在通勤或排队等碎片化的场景下短暂分散注意力的用户。这一赛道常见有纸牌、棋盘、拼图、三消、射击和运动等等。休闲类手游构成要素多见:简洁的界面 + 鲜艳色彩 + 声效动画。由于简单但令人兴奋的游戏玩法和风格迥异的美术,这一分类常年爆款层出不穷,且在各个区域的应用商店均能看到不少霸榜选手。


挑战

该赛道最大的游戏开发者之一与 Aarki 取得联系,为其广受好评的大热休闲游戏 app 开展用户获取广告。他们希望扩大用户群,并寻求需求方平台(DSP)合作伙伴来帮助交付具有高投资回报率(ROI)的高价值用户。Aarki 具备胜任这些要求的全部资质。该广告定位使用 Android 移动设备的美国用户。

解决方案

广告活动以对客户网站和应用程序商店页面的广泛研究为起点。来帮助我们了解有关应用特殊事件、新功能和更新等等。除了广告主提供的第一方数据外我们还调查了应用程序的用户行为和历史的广告系列效果数据。

这些调研为我们提供了良好的基础,在此基础之上制作动人的创意素材并搭建定制化机器学习模型,以达成广告活动的关键绩效指标 (KPI)。

素材是关键

使用合适的广告样式可为您的特定广告系列的效果提升带来好处。该广告专注于激励和非激励(插页式)视频广告。激励视频是通过提供额外的游戏寿命、金币等激励手段让用户主动选择观看、且不可跳过的视频广告。因此,这类广告样式具有非常高的完成率。这一不可跳过的属性也令应用营销人员受益良多。与激励视频不同,非激励视频(也被称为插页广告)是全屏的,通常出现在应用内的内容过渡点。这意味着它们将对用户体验造成的影响最小化。

Video-Ad-GIF-revised

基于两种广告样式间的表现差异,我们决定为他们创建单独的广告组,以便更好地进行优化,并以更细的颗粒度定向用户。我们的分析表明,插页视频广告对目标应用的效果更好,并与扩大应用用户群的整体目标一致。鉴于这一广告样式有更丰富的库存,它们的花费较激励视频广告高 50%,这也使 D7 ROI 较激励视频广告高 21%。

为此,我们提高了对插页视频广告的出价,并根据目标受众的兴趣来设计能更有效激发他们尝试游戏欲望的广告创意。此外值得注意的是,我们在激励视频广告方面的其它尝试也被证明是卓有成效的。

以下是我们的休闲应用广告活动受众成功实践的创意策略。

  • 展示教程:演示应用程序的详细操作方法,展示应用程序的独特之处。
  • 挑战受众:邀请他们尝试通过某一最难的关卡,并鼓励他们完成游戏。
  • 突出元创意:向用户展示特定情境,给出攻克这些困难的选项。

机器学习

Aarki 使用专有数据构建预测机器学习模型,在最优获客价格的基础上预测应用内事件的概率。我们的数据科学家开发了先进的机器学习模型来触达和获取潜在用户,并为每个广告活动提供强劲的投资回报率。我们还通过利用人工智能(AI)向每个用户展示最佳的个性化创意变体,确保安装和参与度的最大化。

我们的数据科学家不断测试并优化广告的机器学习模型。在广告期间,随着越来越多的数据点被收集,使模型能够自主学习并提高其准确性。从下图中可以看出,随着时间的推移,事件发生率变得更为接近(预测的)事件概率。

Casual-UA-Graph


结果

从下面的结果可以看出,本次广告取得了巨大的成功。我们在与客户协作方面的丰富经验以及对客户业务和目标的深刻理解共同对本次广告的整体效果产生了重大影响。

Aarki 的创意优化和机器学习技术,加上我们对应用程序的理解和对广告样式的丰富经验,不仅有助于增加目标事件,而且还增加了量级,达到并超过了客户的主要目标。以下是通过使用非激励视频广告的活动取得的成果。



Casual-UA-Graph-2

 

Unbranded-Casual_CN-Results

 

亮点

checkboxAarki 的定制竞价模型和动态创意优化是该广告活动成功的关键。

checkboxD7 ROI表现超越了目标。

checkbox总体上看,插页广告的量级增加了2倍,且同时贡献了视频活动的最大消耗。

 

Aarki 是 100% 的 RTB 实时竞价 DSP。利用机器学习,大数据,及规模化触达,我们帮助企业实现增长并与他们的用户再互动。Aarki 利用包括原生、视频、互动、试玩等丰富的广告样式,运行了无数成功的再营销广告。

Aarki 的数据科学家利用强大的机器学习算法,调动海量受众及用户数据帮助广告主找到那些拥有相似兴趣且同时最大概率在与应用互动的同时又具有潜在花费意愿的用户。这使 Aarki 得以始终保持强劲的应用营销效果,不论广告主的目标为何,

®≥÷¨••••••••••••••••••••

Background

Casual games are one of the most beloved mobile game categories. These games are designed for quick play and they are ideal for people who want a brief distraction, maybe during a commute or waiting in line. There are several categories under this genre such as card, board, puzzle, match 3, merge, shooter, and sports. A casual game app usually features a simple interface, along with bright colors, sounds and animation. Thanks to easy but exciting gameplay and engaging illustrations, this genre is guaranteed to always be at the top of app store charts.


The Challenge 

One of the biggest gaming app companies reached out to Aarki to run a user acquisition campaign for their beloved casual game app. They wanted to widen their user base and sought a demand-side platform (DSP) partner to help in delivering high-value users with a strong return on investment (ROI). Aarki was a perfect match for these criteria. The campaign targeted US-based users owning Android mobile devices.

The Solution

We started the campaign with extensive research into the client’s website and app store pages. We sought to learn more about special app events, new features, and updates. Along with first-party data provided by the advertiser, we investigated the app’s user behavior and previous campaign performance data.

This research provided us with a foundation on which to produce enticing creatives and build custom machine learning models to meet the campaign's key performance indicators (KPIs).

Creative Matters

Using the right ad format for your specific campaign gives you a performance advantage.  For this campaign, we focused on reward and non-rewarded (interstitial) video ads. Rewarded videos are non-skippable, opt-in video ads that present users with incentives, such as extra game lives, bonus coins, etc. As a result, this ad format has very high completion rates. App marketers also benefit from the non-skippable feature of this ad format, and users see the entire video ad. Unlike rewarded videos, non-rewarded videos (also known as interstitial ads) are full-screen ads that are usually displayed inside apps, at transition points in the content. This means they are less likely to negatively interrupt the user experience.

Video-Ad-GIF-revised

Based on the difference in the performance of rewarded and non-rewarded video ads we decided to have a separate campaign for each ad format to allow for better optimization and to target users on a more granular level. Our analysis showed that interstitial video ads worked better for the target app and aligned well with the campaign's goal to widen the app's user base. Given that these ads have a bigger inventory, they were spending 50% higher than the rewarded video ads which resulted in a 21% higher D7 incremental ROI than rewarded video ads. 

With this, we increased bidding on interstitial video ad format and designed ad creatives that were tailored to the interests of the target audiences by encouraging them to play the game. It’s also worth noting that our other video campaign focusing on rewarded video ads proved to be a success too.

Below are the creative strategies that performed successfully for our casual app campaign audience.  

  • Present tutorials by showing a detailed how-to of the app and demonstrate what makes the app special.
  • Challenge the audience by inviting them to try to beat one of the hardest levels and encourage them to work their way through the game. 
  • Highlight meta creatives by showing certain problematic situations to the user and options for how they can be overcome.

Machine Learning

Aarki uses proprietary data to build predictive machine learning models that forecast the probability of in-app events at an optimal acquisition price. Our data scientists develop advanced machine learning models to reach and acquire prospective users and deliver strong ROI for each campaign. We also ensure a high probability of installs and engagement by leveraging artificial intelligence (AI) to serve an optimal personalized creative variant to each user.  

Our data scientists continuously tested and optimized the campaign  machine learning models. Over the campaign period, increasing amounts of data points were collected. This allowed the models to learn and improve their accuracy. Thus, as seen from the graph, over time the event rate became closer to the (predicted) event probability. 

Casual-UA-Graph


Results

As seen from the results below, this campaign was a huge success. Our experience in client coordination and our deep understanding of the client’s business problem and goals made a strong impact on the overall performance of the campaign.  

Aarki’s numerous creative optimization and machine learning techniques, as well as our core understanding of the app and the ability to focus on the right ad format, helped not just to increase targeted events but also to register an increase in volume, which met and exceeded the client's main goal. Below are presented the results we achieved through our campaign with non-rewarded video ads.



Casual-UA-Graph-2

 

Casual-Results

 

Highlights

checkboxAarki’s custom bidding models and dynamic creative optimization were key to the campaign’s success.

checkboxD7 ROI performance mostly exceeded the goal.

checkboxOverall, volume for interstitial ads increased up to 2X while remaining the top spender for video campaigns

 

Aarki is a 100% real-time bidding (RTB) demand-side platform (DSP). We help companies grow and reengage their mobile users, using machine learning, data, and large customer reach. Aarki has run many retargeting campaigns utilizing a variety of ad formats, including native, video, interactive, playable, and interstitial.

Leveraging a rich database of audience and user engagement data, Aarki’s data scientists use robust machine learning algorithms to find audiences who share similar interests and are most likely to engage and spend with the app. This enables Aarki to consistently deliver strong app marketing performance no matter the app marketer’s retargeting goals.