你的试玩广告终极指南


移动设备试玩广告

时至今日,移动广告已经从静态横幅广告衍生出了种类繁多的样式,为应用营销人员提供了丰富的触达选择。在此前的文章中,我们介绍了横幅广告以及视频广告,本篇文章将为你着重介绍最能激发受众参与度的广告形式 —— 试玩广告。

为何选择试玩广告?

简单来说,试玩广告的概念像极了汽车试驾,在实际成交前你总会想要试一试。试玩广告为手机游戏营销人员所广泛使用,通过向受众提供真实的游戏片段,并在 15 秒到 1 分钟的时长内展示游戏的乐趣所在。一旦游戏画面结束,便会出现 CTA(号召性按钮),随后用户可以决定是否要下载游戏。这是一种看似不像广告的广告。

与展现游戏一方天地的横幅广告和突出游戏特色的短视频广告不同,试玩广告为提供受众创造了身临其境的体验。当用户接触了广告试玩后,他们对游戏建立了明确的期待,如果他们想要继续体验,便自然会安装下载。

为何投放试玩广告?

试玩广告常被业界同仁认为最有效的广告样式之一。通常来说,移动用户下载一款新的游戏应用后,通过短暂试玩来判断是否喜欢这个游戏。要么马上卸载,要么再也不会打开。而“提前尝试”的试玩广告则解决了这一问题,并有效改善了多种指标:

  • 降低卸载率 —— 由于用户基于体验做出选择,试玩广告在用户生命周期的初期就保证了用户的高 LTV,有效降低应用卸载率的同时提高了留存率和互动率。
  • 提高投资回报率 —— 通过过滤非目标用户,营销人员可以最大程度地减少在不相关、低 LTV 用户获取上的资源浪费。虽然试玩广告的 CPI (每次安装成本)略高于传统视频和横幅广告,但在投资回报率上令人相当满意。

试玩广告的基本要素:

试玩广告由三部分组成:游戏教程、游戏试玩和 CTA。

  • 游戏教程 —— 作为试玩广告的第一部分,教程应当简洁明确,只包含必要信息。为达到最佳效果,试玩广告需要让人一目了然。教程作为广告的一部分,需要清晰地让用户知道他们是在广告中试玩,并非实际的游戏。
  • 游戏试玩 —— 试玩并不需要完整地反映整个游戏。他应该是一个相对简单的片段,聚焦游戏体验中的特定元素,比如新手教学或新手关卡。试玩的时长可以介于 15 秒 至 50 秒不等。
  • CTA —— 作为试玩广告的最后一部分,一般出现在游戏试玩环节之后,激励用户通过应用商店下载以完成转化。CTA 以方便受众快速理解为宜。

试玩广告的类型

就创建方式而言,主要包括两种:

  • 纯 HTML —— 通过 HTML 代码和应用程序的广告素材从零做起。可以突出应用的多个元素,并易于描绘应用功能。在制作 HTML 试玩广告拥有对广告完全的自主权,且由于基于代码的部署,在测试时能更方便地生成迭代变体。
  • 视频广告 —— 这类广告通过将应用的视频素材和 HTML UI 元素相结合,制作交互式广告。交互式视频对着重突出美术风格的试玩广告来说是一个相当不错的选择,保证了视觉呈现质量。相较于纯 HTML,这类广告文件较大,并对网络负载有要求

提高用户体验的素材贴士

Tip #1: 一切从简 享受为主

试玩广告要易于理解,教程部分尤其。不要用规则淹没用户,让用户尽可能地享受广告。

试玩广告 - 使之简单

Tip #2: 难度适中 唾手可得

适当调节难度调动用户参与,难度过低用户将很快失去兴趣。

Accessible levels for Playable ads

Tip #3: 游戏真实 激励相伴

虽然你需要创造一个简化的游戏片段,但不要忘了突出游戏中最有吸引力的机制。展示奖励道具,令用户为之兴奋,制造对游戏的渴望。

试玩广告 - 展示玩法

Tip #4: 有时无声胜有声

我们最近的广告活动表明,无声试玩广告在一些指标上比有声试玩广告取得了更好的表现。无声广告的 CTR 达到358.76%,CPI 降低 46.10%,ROI 达到 314.28%,高出客户目标 122.72%。

试玩广告 - 尝试无声

Tip #5: 非游戏类应用亦可尝试

虽然试玩广告普遍被认为是移动游戏应用的广告样式,但非游戏应用,如电商或工具类应用也能从中获益。在此前的文章中,我们介绍了一些可用于非游戏应用的策略,如某超市应用的 "下拉 "小游戏,或某巧克力品牌应用的 "隐藏物品 "小游戏。点击此链接,了解非游戏应用如何从试玩广告中获益。

试玩广告 - 勇于尝试

试玩广告令用户更加了解应用,自然带来了愿意继续使用的高质量用户。如果您尚未尝试过这一广告类型,切莫错失良机。

 

Topics: Creative Insights

Your Ultimate Guide to Playable Ads


Mobile Playable Ad

Mobile advertising has come a long way from static banner ads, providing app marketers with a wide variety of ad formats to select from. We have already covered banner and video ads in our previous articles and in this article, we aim to give you a comprehensive guide to one of the most engaging ad formats - playable ads.  

What are playable ads?

The concept behind playable ads is much like test-driving a car before making an actual purchase. Generally used by mobile game app marketers, playable ads offer audiences a snippet of real gameplay and show what makes the game fun within fifteen seconds to one minute. Once the snapshot of the game ends, a call-to-action (CTA) is displayed so the user can install the game if they want to. It’s an ad that doesn’t feel like an ad.

Unlike static or animated ads that portray only a glimpse of the game or a short video ad that features a showreel of gameplay, playable ads offer the audiences a chance to experience the game themselves. By the time the user is finished playing with the ad, they already know what to expect from the app and will install it if they want to continue playing the app game.         

Why Invest in Playable Ads?

Playable ads are consistently prated as the most effective ad format among industry professionals. Typically, mobile users install a new game app and try it for a while, only to realize it’s not their cup of tea. This leads them to either never open the app again, or immediately uninstall it. With the “try before you buy” concept, playable ads solve this problem, resulting in improvements in different metrics:

  • Lower uninstall rate - As the users make experience-based decisions, playable ads guarantee high LTV users early in the user lifecycle and as a result, effectively reduce app uninstalls while generating high retention and engagement rates.
  • Higher ROI -  By filtering out users who wouldn’t enjoy the app, the advertisers minimize money potentially wasted on acquiring irrelevant, low LTV users. Even if the cost per install (CPI) for playable ads is more expensive than a typical video or banner ad, the ROI ends up being higher.

Basic structure of a playable ad:

Playable ads consist of three components: the tutorial, gameplay, and the call to action. 

  • The tutorial - This is the first part of the playable ad. It should be short and simple, only including the information necessary for the user to start playing. Playable ads need to be intuitive for the best results. The tutorial is also the part of the playable where you should clearly indicate that the user is playing on an ad and not the actual game.
  • Gameplay - The gameplay does not need to wholly reflect the game. It should be a simpler snippet,  focused on specific elements that introduce the experience, such as a tutorial or an early level. The time frame for the gameplay can vary from 15 to 50 seconds.
  • A call to action - The CTA is the final part of the playable ad which appears once the gameplay phase is done, and it incentivizes the user to convert by downloading the app from the app store. The CTA should be quick and easy to understand. 

Types of Playable Ads

There are two types of playable ads in terms of how they are created: 

  • Pure HTML Playables - These kinds of playable ads are created from scratch using HTML code and the creative assets of the app. They feature one or more elements of the app and make it easier to depict the app functions. HTML playables offer full control over the ad and are more convenient for producing various iterations while testing due to the code-based deployment.

  • Video ad playables - These playable ads combine footage of the promoted app with HTML UI elements to create an interactive ad. Interactive video is a smart choice for playable ads that are graphic-heavy, where the visual presentation is difficult to refine. Compared to pure HTML, playable ads using interactive video require larger files and result in high network strain.

Creative Tips to Enhance User Experience

Tip #1: Keep it simple

Playable ads should be easy to understand, especially in the tutorial phase. Don’t overwhelm the users with too many rules and give them time to enjoy the ad. 

keep it simple

Tip #2: Make the difficulty level accessible 

Find the right balance between making your playable ad challenging to engage the user, but not too easy so that they lose interest quickly.

Accessible levels for Playable ads

Tip #3: Show your actual gameplay

Though you need to create a simplified snippet of your app, don’t forget to showcase the most attractive features of your app. Let the users feel the excitement, show the reward possibilities, make them want more of the game. 

Show your gameplay in playable ads

Tip #4: Go for no audio

Our recent campaign showed that playable ads without audio perform better than the ones with audio across a number of metrics. The no audio ad registered 358.76% better click-through rate (CTR), a 46.10% better cost per install (CPI), and a 314.28% greater return on investment (ROI) which was 122.72% above the client’s goal.

Use no audio for playable ads

Tip #5: Experiment with non-gaming apps

Although playable ads are perceived as an ad format for mobile gaming apps, non-gaming apps such as eCommerce or utility apps can also benefit. In our recent article, we highlighted several strategies that can be used for non-gaming apps, like “Droppable” mini-games for supermarket apps or a “Hidden Object” mini-game for a chocolate brand app. Follow this link for more details on how to benefit from this popular ad format for non-gaming apps.

Use playable ads for non-gaming apps

Playable ads naturally bring in higher-quality users who already understand your app and have the intent to continue using it. If you haven’t leveraged playable ads yet, now is the right time to think about it.

 

Topics: Creative Insights